WYA Asia Pacific at 10th Philippine Parliament of Youth Leaders


WYA Asia Pacific regional interns Ace Dela Cruz and Prince Ragasa; WYA Asia Pacific 2014 summer camp graduates Milarose Barraca and Reuben Dongallo; and WYA member Hazel Urminita participated in the 10th National Youth Parliament of the Philippines on May 15 to 18 in Manila, Philippines.

The Parliament of Youth Leaders, also known as the National Youth Parliament (NYP), is a gathering of a minimum of 200 youth leaders and youth sector representatives from all over the Philippines who engage in a simulated legislative process where the youth present, discuss, and craft policy recommendations that will address pressing issues that directly affect the youth.

For the 10th session, delegates were divided into four different committees: Education, Employment, Health and Youth Participation. Prince Ragasa and Milarose Barraca were part of the Committee on Youth Participation, Ace Dela Cruz and Hazel Urminita joined the Committee on Education and Reuben Dongallo was a member of the Committee on Employment.

Each committee was allotted two resolutions for discussion in the plenary. The eighth resolutions that were passed covered (1) youth participation in the peace process, (2) labor market information system in communities and local schools, (3) ABOT ALAM (Reaching Knowledge) program for Out of School Youth, (4) youth organizations’ participation in the HIV/AIDS program implementation, (5) Sangguniang Kabataan (Youth Council) reform, (6) youth entrepreneurship, (7) modernization of public elementary and high schools and (8) access to health services of indigenous peoples. Additional resolutions in support of the Bangsamoro peace agreement the 2014 World Youth Conference also passed at the plenary.

At the end of the parliament, Dela Cruz and Ragasa were elected as Regional Conveners for Regions Two and Six, respectively. They will take active roles in monitoring the progress of the proposed resolutions in the Philippine Congress for the next two years together with the parliament officers and their fellow conveners.